Cycling Rocks

Yes indeed it does. I want a bike. I borrowed my neighbour’s bike this evening to join my loved one in a jaunt along the tow-path and it made me feel 10 years younger. It also totally knackered me but that’s good.

I’m going to call in and see what my local 2nd -hand bike merchant Austin has to offer. I think I would like a Dutch style bike as the handle bars are higher preventing the aching back, shoulders and neck from bending over.

One of my all time favourite books is, ‘The Third Policeman’ by Flann O’Brien. It’s a little gem of a book which I’d advise anyone with a curious mind and a light sense of humour to read. Like all great left of centre works, it was ignored at the time. The buggers. It’s hard being a writer. It’s even harder being from the future.

Anyway here are some lovely covers of the book which I found on the net. I have owned two of them (the last two), but don’t have either of them any more. I lent one to my friend under strict instructions that she read it. I don’t think she has.

About shanokee

Experiencer
This entry was posted in bicycles, Books and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Cycling Rocks

  1. Missy says:

    Love this book! It was a book I studied at Uni and I reckon it’s the only thing I really remember from years of studying. Woot woot! Nice blog Pennywise x

  2. Happyclarry says:

    Can’t beat cycling! Now combine that with your blackberry picking and you’ll have wonderful autumn escapades. I just joined Sustrans when a lovely fellow cyclist was recruiting along the towpath – a worthy cause I think. And if you want good jam recipes, you only have to ask. My strawberry and rhubarb seems to be going down well this year, and I intend to pick rowanberries on the way home from work tomorrow to make rowan marmalade at the weekend. Yum yum.
    C x

    • shanokee says:

      I just had a look at Sustrans. Was told yesterday of the cycle route that goes all the way past the Odyssey. Can’t wait to get my bike. Next week I hope! Yes, wonderful autumn escapades!! Your jam sounds lush. Happy happy xx

Leave a Reply

